LEAVE A COMMENT


  • I would love a link or explanation as to how to do a “clean install” without formatting your drive. Thanks!




    • By most accounts, a “clean reinstall” would involve erasing the drive and installing a fresh system – that’s the “clean” part.
      In earlier OS X versions, you could choose an option in the installer that would perform an “archive and install” of the OS, which would move the in a separate folder. You could choose to preserve your users folder and network settings.
      If I recall correctly, this option was removed in 10.5, but for later OS versions, you could use the Migration Assistant to bring back your data from a Time Machine backup or a clone of your original drive.